Light Painting Masters

Ive become quite taken by light painting recently and have been looking about for inspiration. Most of the great examples I can find are taken on digital cameras and there are limitations when using analogue. The greatest inspiration I could of got came from the very unlikely source of the Daily Mail! My wife showed me an article in there on Gjon Mili. (Lucy assures me she only reads it for the gossip)

Gjon Mili (November 28, 1904 – February 14, 1984) was an Albanian-American photographer best known for his work published in LIFE. This guy is all kinds of crazy good and it has put me on a trail to see some abosolute painting masters. This has inspired me no end and im going to be trying some shots out tonight.

He also did a lot of work taking inspiration from Picassos paintings.

Some other great masters are

Andreas Feininger

A friend of mine has a boyfriend with a helicopter so I’m hoping I get the chance to try it out.

David Lebe

Eric Staller

Jozef Sedlák

I had to post two pics from Jozef as I really like his shots. Apologies for the willies.

Kamil Varga

So who is your favourite? Do you know any others? Would you like to show me your own light painting attempts?

HRH

Leave a Reply

