Lubitel Light Painting

I have recently become more involved on flickr and its introduced me to some local analogue enthusiasts.There is a good group called Analogue Brighton where you can share tips/hints/pictures and advice.

They have been meeting up every month or so for a while. I finally took the plunge and decided I would meet these internet people! Would I be abused, murdered, sold time share? I did not know but if it was all under the guise of analogue I was up for trying.

I have to say that I have now been for two meets, the first of which only one person (25ThC) turned up. It went swimmingly and we had a good geek out with beers followed by a light painting shoot in the graveyard.

Last week we re arranged another and this time it was serious 4 of us turned up. 25ThC, Captainbonobo and Rivermonkey. Again we had some beers and discussed the really geeky things that go along with analogue. Things like expired and hard to find film, different cameras were shown. It was like an analogue antiques roadshow, we were the only people in the pub, thank you to the barman who didn’t just laugh.

So we decided to head up to St Anns Wells gardens as it would be away from street light and had enough space for us to run about with lights.

The Kit

1. Tripod

2.   Lubitel 166

3. Shutter release cable, a must for light painting shots.

4. Loads of torches, lights and flashing things.

I decided upon my lubitel which uses 120 film. This may be a really bad choice for light painting as 120 film can only do 12 shots a roll and is expensive to develop. I like it as I really think about the frame of my shot when I stare down the barrel. How cool does that look?

The results

This one is a long exposure of 25ThC. I got him to use a yellow coloursplash flash to highlight his face and legs in different positions. I love the glare and half-moon it created.

This is me and ive used a different filter on each one of the flashes. I wanted to see what would happen when the flats light were behind me.

The guys I went with were a joy to shoot with. Captain Bonobo actually lives on the edge of the park and in his dedication even rang his girlfriend to tell her to turn off the lights as it was ruining his shot. Hero.

Captain Bonobo walking on a light leak. Love this one. 25ThC drew round him with a flashy keyring and when I scanned the neg a light leak showed up in the perfect position.

More of the shots can be viewed here. Most of these shots were being exposed for about 4-5 minutes. At one point we were interrupted by some drunk tramps who were very interested and shouted various comments at us whilst they played on the swings.

This is one of the shots from the previous shoot

2 thoughts on “Lubitel Light Painting

Leave a Reply

